top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLily Jade

Losing And Finding Yourself, In The Midst Of Chaos

I’ve been with my Partner for almost 9 months.

They have been the brightest, most love-filled months of my life. However, no sea is smooth sailing.

November of 2018, I spent waking up at dawn to prepare my boat - one of those trips parents send the ‘bad kids’. My time was spent sailing in Mexico with 13 other students. Through a strenuous 21 day course of learning how to sail and working as a team member, my limits were tested.

Not only was this course pure survival, but mentally challenging as well. We were assigned mentors; to guide us through personal development and any issues we may have encountered.

Hannah was more than my mentor - a spirit guide, if you will.

Together, we discovered deep rooted issues, I never knew existed. She had a way of pulling from the base, uncovering the reasoning behind my outbursts.

By the end of my quest; I had discovered that in order to improve your surroundings, you must fix yourself FIRST.

As life pushes highs and lows through my path, I feel like a rag-doll - tired, pushed and pulled in every direction. In the midst of it all, I lose MYSELF!

In a relationship, you must know yourself. Hence, the complications and arguments that arise when we doubt ourselves. Without loving yourself, it’s impossible to love others.

My Partner and I, refuse to fall asleep upset with each other. Meaning, any argument and disagreement is sorted out before bed - even if it takes all night.

I cannot stress enough: The importance of self-care.

We just spent 3 hours discussing how we must fix ourselves, in order to improve our relationship. We each made a list of the things we need to work on. My list included patience, temper, emotional management, listening, and my physical wellbeing.

I will start with re-evaluating my physical wellbeing - to regulate my hormones. This includes, providing my body with enough nutrients to survive a hectic day. Showing my body that I appreciate the ability to move, by being more active. And less caffeine… cause that builds up too much angst… lol!!

Anytime we lose ourselves, it is important to begin at the basics.

Just like soap making! While curating the perfect batch of soap, the basics must be consistent: proper temperature, percentage of ingredients, etc. If something goes wrong, these aspects must be evaluated to pinpoint the problem.

Once found, a solution can be put into place: The soap batch is too hot? An ice-bath will cool the process and slow the reaction. Problem solved!

As the Universe pushes and pulls, we must remember OUR INDIVIDUALITY. We must have faith and trust in ourselves, in order to keep our surroundings positive.





71 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page